FIM's Continental Union
for Motorcycling in Africa



Posted on February 6, 2018 at 1:35 AM

Ngugi Waweru was over the moon upon being feted for another stellar accomplishment after scooping FIM African Central Africa Championship (CAC) MX1 and MX2 titles in the 2017 season.

Also feted was Ethan Nyachae for winning the MX125 regional title.

During the Kenya Motor Sports Foundation awards ceremony organized by East Africa Motor Sports Club (EAMSC) Ngugi savoured the successful season and promised better displays in the new 2018 season.

"I expect stiff opposition from my opponents both from MX1 and MX2 this year. After winning all these awards, I am sure they will all be coming hard at me so it's a wait and see situation," said Ngugi who is confident of winning the Africa Championship in August.

The occasion also feted all the national champions in all categories of the 2017 season.

Tanav Choda was rewarded for his MX50 national championship expoits and so were Rafe Garner (MX65), James Luusa in MX85, Ngugi in MX 2 and Ethan in MX125.

Ben Spinks collected his award as the Enduro National Champion and Callum Hayes the Clubman champion.

Franco Checchni and Robbie Calder, veterans of the piki game finished second and third in the enduro championship and we're rewarded for their never say never attitude towards riding.

Behind Callum Hayes in the Enduro Clubman category were David Pumberton and Danilo Pucci.

Shivam Vinayak was feted for a great season which saw him win Rally Raid Championship motorcycle category.

The Karin Bernardi Memorial Trophy sporting award went to Kihara siblings Dekker and Rolf.

The Karin Bernardi non sporting award was bestowed upon the Ken Kihara and family. Karin who was one of the most dedicated motorcycle officials died of cancer a few years ago.

As is the tradition of East Africa Motor Sports Club, all participants in the busy 2017 season were feted.

The Ladies Merit Award went to MX125 rider Maxine Wahome who was presented with the Beaulah Schoeman Trophy. Schoeman is the immediate former president of FIM Africa.

The most improved rider was non other than James Luusa when he stunned all by winning the MX85 class.

Luusa was again all smiles with the Most Meritorious Award.

The Little Ripper Award dubbed the revolving trophy went to Trey Garner.

As is the tradition, organiser had a prize for all the participants in the busy season.

The podium winners in 2017 were as follows :-


1. Tanav Choda 448 points

2. Atete Benzinge 388

3. Wahome Mutahi 324


1. Rafe Garner 310points

2. Neo Wahome 304

3. Kit Garner 303

MX 85

1. James Luusa 401

2. Christian Chege 354

3. Zenni Glen 325


1.Ethan Nyachae 480

2. Kigen Kiplagat 402

3. John Schrier 225


1. Ngugi Waweru 408

2. Rolf Kihara 343

3. Alex Moi 324

Published by: Samson Ateka

Categories: FMN News Kenya

Oops! This site has expired.

If you are the site owner, please renew your premium subscription or contact support.